31 days of randomness- Personal Inspiration 10 – Fish Philosophy


In continuation of my 31 days of randomness – Day 10 – Fish Philosophy – Live in the moment.

When I was teaching in California (and I believe that this happens at most schools), we were always required to start each year with some sort of inspiring teaching story or some sort of motivational activity.  I remember one year we started our motivational hour with a film called “FISH! Culture”  It was a motivational film really focusing on living in the moment.  It seemed like a somewhat hokey video at first but every time I see it I remind myself that these are principals that I try to go back to all the time and sometimes in the heat of each day and each moment I often forget that living in the moment is all you have.

The Fish Philosophy involves four simple principles:

Be There - When we interact with others, we need to really focus on that moment, with that person. We take responcibility for “being who we are while we’re doing what we’re doing.”

Choose Your Attitude - We can’t control what happens to us, but we do have a choice about how we respond. By accepting responsibility for the attitude we choose, we also empower ourselves to change it.

Make Their Day - Too often we ask, “What have you done for me lately?” instead of “How can I make your day?” If we turn the focus around and do little things to make others feel good, we can have a powerful, positive impact on the people in our lives.

Play - This does not mean goof off, but it does mean bring a light-hearted spirit to life. Think about how much little kids learn by exploring, experimenting, playing. Why shouldn’t we all approach life with the same curiosity and interest? Besides, it is more fun!

I wish I had the full video to share but all I could find is a trailer.  Enjoy!

This all started from a random site I found called thenester.com.  Apparently there is a group of people who have committed to posting a topical theme a day for 31 days.  31 Dayers 2012

other other other other

2 thoughts on “31 days of randomness- Personal Inspiration 10 – Fish Philosophy

Watcha wanna say...

