I’ll be back… well actually I almost am!!


Well..HELLO!!!  After about 7 weeks of traveling the U.S. and visiting friends and family, I am finally starting training.  It was an amazing trip that took me from Washington State to New York and finally down to North Carolina and eventually back to DC.  Along the way I took some great photos that I’m hoping to share in the coming weeks. I had an awesome time with the kids, the grandkids and several friends that have spanned a 40 year period of my life.  I’ve closed some doors and opened others.  Made some resolutions and broke others.  Now comes the return to work.  I’m excited as I have never been very good with too much time on my hands and nothing productive to do.

I have a new macbook pro and after only 2 days I was back at the Apple store ready to return it.  I couldn’t load any of my photos, there were so many things happening that appeared out of my control and I could not get ahold of customer support. I once again contacted the online appointment system and was told by an automated (person??)  “We are so sorry there are no “genius bar” appointments available.”    Automated phone rage was setting in.  I made a call to the store and when I was told that there was no one to help me today I asked if someone could help me return the machine.  A not so nice, “well, yes” was handed to me.  I angrily stomped all the way to the store.

At the store I was politely told, “It’s not us, it’s YOU!!”  I was walked through an on-the-spot training to learn some of the newest and “coolest” ways of using this new technology.  I get it now, though I’m not sure I love it yet. I was also having trouble up-loading my photos and just like when you take a car into the mechanic.. none of the problems I was experiencing from home was happening at the store.

It was true it wasn’t the computer it WAS me.  New formats for WordPress photos, new computer operating system, new everything..  WHY… WHY.. WHY do companies change technology so often when it worked so well before.  Do they not understand the old dog – new trick issues? So here goes.  I am hoping to start up with blogging again.. though the internet here has been mediocre at best.  Boo !!!!!

Now enough of all of that.. I think I mentioned before all of my first world problems.  If a computer glitch (and a new computer at that glitch) is the worst thing I am going to be faced with in the coming year then I guess I have it pretty good.  The bottom line is I had an exceptional 2 months of travel and I am ready to begin training for my new location.  It’s good to be back and I promise this is the last of my complaints.. for… today.

14 thoughts on “I’ll be back… well actually I almost am!!

  1. I think the problem with computers is almost always user, but only if sufficient support isn’t available. Most of the time we experience some frustration but if the help is there and walks us through how to use the technology we settle down. The problem here seems to be lack of support. Same on them – not good for business. Stomp away! :)

  2. WOW I say… Was that my friend having a less than perfect day… The one that was willing to go to any lengths to solve a problem.. Hum I say… My friend that Never give’s up.. You are amazing…………Make today the best day…Most of all do not forget to laugh at those moments in time that cause us anger and resentments… because with experience we learn this to shall pass…

    • ahhh thanks Fran.. I have to say.. it was less than perfect.. bouts with bronchitis, tech problems and still FREEZING.. in the end I did have to laugh because I have this uncanny ability to see myself in the most ridiculous light.. and can only imagine what I looked like stomping the 15 min to the mall.. lucky for me the lady talked me off the ledge and we both ended up laughing about it.. AND I kept the machine.. good customer service.. thanks again and you as well are amazing.. so come visit me.. jeje..

  3. G’day, welcome back to WP land. I so understand about the old dog and new tricks scenario, it drives me crazy, I’m just feeling so pleased with myself and how things are going, then I turn on the computer and with no warning every thing has changed. GRRRRRRR… So it is back to the drawing board :(

  4. Sorry to hear about your experience… I guess it justifies the reports that came out yesterday were Samsung has surpassed Apple in customer loyalty.. thats a prime example! I’m surprised how one man has impacted such a global company!!!

    • I’m slowly figuring out what I am doing but I remember the day when I could turn on the computer and just use it.. everything now is “hidden” and “self-intuitive” when in fact it isn’t. Well- slowly but surely I will get it. I’m considering Samsung for a PC for certain things the MAC can’t do — programs for work.. if you have suggestions let me know.. would appreciate it.

Watcha wanna say...

