The Illusion of Innocence


“It is photography itself that creates the illusion of innocence. Its ironies of frozen narrative lend to its subjects an apparent unawareness that they will change or die. It is the future they are innocent of. Fifty years on we look at them with the godly knowledge of how they turned out after all – who they married, the date of their death – with no thought for who will one day be holding photographs of us.”
― Ian McEwanBlack Dogs

Alisha Southard Haute Pink Photography

Dave Matthews Band- Mother, Father photo montage

Throughout all of my life photos have inspired me and through all of my travels I have developed an absolute love of taking pictures of pretty much anything.  I bring the photos home, spend hours editing them and then posting them to Facebook or sending the very special ones to friends and family who I think might enjoy them.

Candid pictures of people in their natural habitat, especially children with their unabashed faces carrying happiness, pure joy, sadness or fear always cause me to pause.  Later reflecting on the pictures I have taken, I sometimes want to jump into the photo and ask them if they can remember what they were thinking about at the exact moment of my “click”.

I was a child once and had pictures taken of me and when I look at even these pictures I wonder what I might have been thinking about, who I thought I would become what I expected out of life.  Maybe I wasn’t thinking of anything worth remembering.  The pictures are so old and so fantastic.  Sometimes I just want to jump into these old pictures of me and give that little girl a big, giant hug.  She probably needed one.

More than likely my photo intrusion is invasive but I can’t seem to help myself.  I’m glad that most of my favorite pictures are of strangers, of people I am fairly certain I will never run into again.  For this I can make up my own ending of how they turned out after all, who they married, what kind of life they led and the amazing successes they became or the great luck they discovered after my photo was taken.  Yeah it’s a bit of an illusion… but I’m ok with that.

Enjoy.

Watcha wanna say...

