America – New York


Travel has a way of stretching the mind. The stretch comes not from travel’s immediate rewards, the inevitable myriad new sights, smells and sounds, but with experiencing firsthand how others do differently what we believed to be the right and only way.” -Ralph Crawshaw

My month long, cross country journey started in New York and lasted from May 12-19. In this post I am going to highlight the beginning of this trip through photos.  It was a month long coast to coast trip that was exciting as well as exhausting.  I met with my cousins and my sister.  I didn’t take my usual street photos this trip, it was more about family and friends.  I’m not sure I would ever do a trip of this magnitude again but I’m glad I did it none the less.   I may not inspire anyone to visit the city though I would highly recommend it.  At any rate… here is the first short of the long journey.

New York 

During my research I found out some of these interesting facts about NY.  They are probably some of the reasons that New York is my absolute favorite city in the United States.  It offers diversity in people and entertainment, great transportation and amazing food.  Fact taken from the linked sites. Link 1, Link 2,

1.  More than 47 percent of New York City’s residents over the age of 5 speak a language other than English at home.

2. More than 250 feature films are shot on location in New York City each year.

3.  The New York City subway system runs 26 routes with 6,200 subway cars that stop at 468 different subway stations.

4.  More than 18,600 restaurants and eating establishments do business in New York City, and the average cost of a dinner in 2006, according to the Zagat Survey, was $39.43. That includes a drink, tax and the tip.

5.  New York City has 4,000 street food vendors.

6.  The musicians who perform in the NYC Subway system go through a competitive audition process. Some of the subway musicians have also played at Carnegie Hall.

7.  Since 2005, New York City has the lowest crime rate of the 25 largest US cities.

Interesting blogs or articles I found that focus on New York

The Brooklyn Nomad, New York City Bloggers, Serious Eats, New York Daily Photo,  Subway Music Blog

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “America – New York

  1. Pingback: 15+ Nearly 21 | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

Watcha wanna say...

