America – Washington, Colorado, Wyoming


 

 

 

 

“I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I intended to be.”
from Douglas Adams

My intent when I began this job was to travel and see the world… all of the world.  I had travelled all over the United States and had had a little foreign travel so I wanted to go to far off countries and explore them extensively and just come back to the United States when I needed to undergo training.  Ironically over the past 2 vacations from work, I have ended up back in the United States taking extended family vacations.  It’s funny how plans and ideals change through travel abroad as well as travel in the U.S.  I am still traveling abroad, but through that travel I have come to realize even more how much I love my own country and how important the homeland is to me. In retrospect this trip was exactly where I needed to be.

 

Part 2 of the journey started in Spokane, Washington (19-25 May).  On the 25th I started the 3rd leg of my trip which involved driving with my dad from Spokane to Cheyenne, Wyoming and then on to Denver, Colorado where we stayed until the 29th of May.

 

The city of Spokane at night, as viewed from t...

The city of Spokane at night, as viewed from the southwest (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I was born and raised in Spokane, Washington.  I attended Cooper then Arlington Elementary.  I went to Shaw Junior High and then graduated from Rogers High School Class of 1985. After leaving Spokane for nearly 8 years, I returned as a single parent and put myself through university and graduated from Whitworth University.

 

So my trip to Spokane was mainly to reconnect with some old friends, my family and just to revisit some of the places I have known for most of my life.  After my visit with my daughters and friends, the initial plan was to fly with my dad to Cheyenne and Denver to reunite with his 85 year old sisters.  Dad changed his mind and we ended up driving. It was a 2 day trip that took us through Idaho, Montana then on to Cheyenne and Denver.  The drive time was about 1.5 days and we travelled through 3 snow storms and several rain storms.

 

Aside from visiting my daughters and grandkids, my favorite part of this trip involved spending 2 days in the car with my dad.  He was a truck driver for over 41 years and I used to go on trips with him sometimes using this same route. So this really felt like going home.  I was able to ask him so many questions about his past.  It was an awesome opportunity to travel back into his past and hear some stories and histories about his past as well as my mom’s that I never knew.

 

Aside from the weather this was also an amazingly beautiful trip that took us through mountains, valleys and high plains.  I would highly recommend taking road trips with your family if you can.  It’s a great way to have deep conversations and to really get to see parts of the country that you cannot experience when traveling by plane or even train.

 

I was also able to reconnect with my aunts and uncles and look at pictures of my dad and my grandparents when they were all younger.  It was a blessing to me as I have not seen any of them for nearly 20 years.  It’s probably the very last time I will see them.  It’s good to have plans, but even better when they change and expose you to things you may never be able to revisit.  It was good to spend this time with my aunts and uncles and re-hear all the old stories.  Yes, this trip was not part of my plan but it was in fact where I was intended to be.

 

“I don’t want to repeat my innocence. I want the pleasure of losing it again.”
― F. Scott FitzgeraldThis Side of Paradise

Some things Spokane is known for:  Bloomsday, 1974 World’s Fair, Bing Crosby,  ZAGS, movies and serial killers

 

So many fun ones on this blog. You should click this first blog to read Best fun facts about Wyoming, Normal facts about Wyoming

 

Colorado Facts, Weird Colorado

 

BLOGS or other websites relating to Spokane, Colorado and Wyoming

 

Things to do in SpokaneUrban Dictionary Spokane, Colorado Blog Directory, Blogs we like Wyoming,  Wyoming Roundup,  Family stops in Washington, Washington Travel Blog

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

4 thoughts on “America – Washington, Colorado, Wyoming

  1. What job is it that you travel and see the world?!?! I want that job! 🙂
    Lovely pix. Family? Strangers you met through your travels? Whatever. Nice slide show. Something about your “About” got me traveling through your posts. Thanks. I enjoyed myself. If you need someone to ride shotgun, let me know. :-). Seeing as much as the U.S. as possible is my goal, in time…

    • DO IT!!! The U.S. is awesome and makes you really appreciate the world and then the world.. well it makes you appreciate the U.S. My travels were brought on by being in the Navy, Teaching English in Korea and now I am a Foreign Service Officer. All these decisions were amazing ways to do and see it all. Pictures are everything you said. Family, friends, strangers I met during the travels. Awesome life.

  2. Pingback: I have a confession to make… | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

Watcha wanna say...

