America – Seattle


My wife and I just prefer Seattle. It’s a beautiful city. Great setting. You open your front door in the morning and the air smells like pine and the sea, as opposed to bus exhaust.
Ron Reagan

Though I was born and raised Spokane, Seattle is my next favorite place to visit.  I LOVE SEATTLE!!!  I have amazing memories of Seattle.  I took my senior high spring break to seattle with my best friend.  I still can’t believe our parents let us drive there at just barely 17.  Of course it was the 80’s and we did a lot of things I cannot believe we were allowed to do.

I remember stopping to stay the night in Issaquah, WA which at the time had one hotel and no one in the world had heard of the place.  Great memories.

After my divorce I went to visit my cousins in Bremerton and ended up staying a month.  They kept threatening to pack my car and ship me out but never did.  Over the years I have taken enumerous trips through Seattle, spent weeks on end with my cousins and well, even today consider it my second home.

Seattle has always been a cool place to me and over the years has become a top destination for tourists world-wide. Many musicians started their careers there and many directors have used the Sound as a backdrop for movies with themes ranging from love to serial killings.  You have Pike’s Place Market, the San Juans, The Space Needle, and recently to my surprise a Ferris Wheel has sprung up right off of the piers.

Seattle offers events and activities that will meet all types of tastes. You can take the Ferry to Bainbridge Island to sample local wines or visit the home of Kurt Cobain.  Seattle is also the home of the grunge music scene, a music museum (EMP) and tons of local artists wanting to share their music and vision with anyone and everyone.

Several interesting neighborhoods are within a 5 minute to hour drive from downtown Seattle have become the retirement home for people from all over the nation as well as the world.  You have district’s like West Seattle, Ballard, Fremont, Green Lake, Queen Anne, Laurelhurst, The University District, Eastlake, South Lake Union, Magnolia, Capitol Hill, Central District, SODO, Georgetown, Belltown and a multitude of others that could suit your tastes.

You are close to the ocean for fishing and boating, close to the mountains for skiing or hiking and in the city for some really cool shopping.

When I first moved to the East Coast I constantly heard this phrase, “I am from Washington State but I live in Galloshes.”  Interestingly in Spokane it doesn’t rain much but in Seattle it has more than it’s share of rainy or overcast days. I guess it doesn’t bother me that much and for some reason the sun always seems to shine down on me when I visit.  Even when it’s rainy I still love it.. it’s a great city.

“The richness of the rain made me feel safe and protected; I have always considered the rain to be healing — a blanket — the comfort of a friend. Without at least some rain in any given day, or at least a cloud or two on the horizon, I feel overwhelmed by the information of sunlight and yearn for the vital, muffling gift of falling water.”
― Douglas CouplandLife After God

For this leg of my journey (May 29- June 4) I have included some of my favorite pictures. This is a city I would strongly suggest checking out.  I love it on the same level as I love New York.

Enjoy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All I really had was a suitcase and my drums. So I took them up to Seattle and hoped it would work.     Dave Grohl

Blogs or articles about Seattle:  Instant Seattle, Chief Seattle Quotes,Seattle Songs, You know you are from the Pacific Northwest when,

2 thoughts on “America – Seattle

    • Thanks. Well, consider now that you have a reason to return. It’s right up their with New York for me.. 2 amazing cities.. both amazing for very different reasons and in different ways. Thanks for stopping by.

Watcha wanna say...

