Weekly Photo Challenge – “Growth”


When I hear the word growth I imagine a seed bursting from the ground followed by a beautiful flower.  I think of a baby learning to walk, then talk, then run.  I think of artists learning a new technique.  I also think of things damaged that have learned how to rejuvenate themselves and start over to become bigger, better and stronger.

“We do not grow absolutely, chronologically. We grow sometimes in one dimension, and not in another; unevenly. We grow partially. We are relative. We are mature in one realm, childish in another. The past, present, and future mingle and pull us backward, forward, or fix us in the present. We are made up of layers, cells, constellations.”
― Anaïs Nin

New York Skyline at Night

“Altogether, nearly 3,000 people died, and an entire nation was affected to its core.”  

The above picture and quote represent growth in its purest form to me.  Though you can no longer see the World Trade Center you can imagine it.  Through the collective imagination of New Yorkers they have managed to repair themselves and grow back a city.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth

30 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – “Growth”

    • Thanks for the compliment.. New York is one of my favorite cities.. always has been probably always will be. It seems to be where I start all of my U.S. trips. If you haven’t been there you should go.. aWesOme…

    • I love the photo challenge and I love how everyone has interpreted it so differently. I also really enjoyed your “Aug 1 Curse” I taught in California for 2 years (year round) and then in Korea.. so my school schedule was a bit different.. but its really all the same.. I loved the feeling of the Aug 1 curse.. ha.. Thanks for stopping by..

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Growth | Just Snaps

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Growth | Chittle Chattle

  3. That was such a tragic day… and it remains vividly clear in my mind where I was when I found out, finding myself slumped against the sofa, sitting on the floor with my toddler, staring in shock at the images on the television… Then searching for the whereabouts of loved ones who worked at the Pentagon… A great tribute to the spirit of New Yorkers and Washingtonians…

    • Thank you for visiting. It was a day I will also never forget. I had just woken and was watching the news and saw the 2nd plane hit. I was a single parent, I was in the reserves and in the middle of my master’s program when it happened. One month after that day I was mobilized and my life and the lives of my daughters was never the same again… but like NY and the United States as a whole.. I have grown from it.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth « Jacqueline's Blog

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth | foldedcranes

  6. Pingback: A re-visit to growth – 9/11 | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

  7. Pingback: 15+ Nearly 21 | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

Watcha wanna say...

