The People – Cambodia


When I decided to go to Cambodia in 2009, I was told I should read, “First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers.” The book outlines the struggles of the people of Cambodia during the Pol Pot regime but more importantly is a narrative of a particular young girl who survives the Khmer Rouge genocide from 1975 to 1979 which resulted in the deaths of close to 2,000,000 people (25 percent of the country’s population).  They died from a combination of starvation, overwork and cruel and unusual forms of execution.

When I arrived in Cambodia so many things brought back to mind this compelling story. I saw the poverty and the dirt and grime and struggles they lived in and survived through and I think it made me actually take a closer look at the people who I think were as beautiful, resilient and fascinating as the land itself.

Enjoy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “The People – Cambodia

  1. Thanks for sharing the story and the picture. I kinda compare it with the condition in my own country except here’s no 2,000,000 people execution but the corruption is here. Again, thanks.

    • I went to your blog, I could not tell where you are from. I have found that many countries are quite similar in either population, transportation or corruption.. very interesting.

Watcha wanna say...

