Travel Theme: Sunsets


“A large drop of sun lingered on the horizon and then dripped over and was gone, and the sky was brilliant over the spot where it had gone, and a torn cloud, like a bloody rag, hung over the spot of its going. And dusk crept over the sky from the eastern horizon, and darkness crept over the land from the east.”
― John SteinbeckThe Grapes of Wrath

Los LLanos, Venezuela

One of the most beautiful regions in Venezuela is “los llanos”, those huge plains where only the horizon stops your sight. Both, the vegetation and the fauna are full of beauty. Several ecosystems will make a trip to this region an unforgettable one.

I missed the last Sunset Travel Theme from “Where’s My Backpack” so I was very pleased That it came around again.  Throughout my travels I have been fortunate enough to have seen some of the most brilliant sunsets.  Like clouds for me, I am often spell-bound by what nature is able to produce.. simple yet complicated, heart stoppingly beautiful.. and a gift.. yeah you heard me.  Absolutely free.. ours for the taking.  So take I did (photos).My favorite sunsets are seen from the mountains or near the ocean or really any body of water.  Possibly due to the connection of cloud formation near water and elevation, they are some of the most stunning sunsets I have experienced.  Here are a few sunsets I have collected in the past couple of years in Venezuela.  I hope you enjoy.

“There’s a sunrise and a sunset every single day, and they’re absolutely free. Don’t miss so many of them.”
― Jo Walton

Curacao- is an island in the southern Caribbean Sea.  About a 45 minute flight from Venezuela.

Imagine an island where hidden coves reveal an emerald-blue sea. Where arcs of golden sand stretch out beneath vibrant, multicolored sunsets. Where a rich historical heritage meets Caribbean vitality. Where the only thing you need to worry about is deciding how to spend your next day in paradise. Imagine Curaçao: the best-kept secret in the Caribbean.

Delta Orinoco in Venezuela.

The Orinoco delta is a vast, intricate labyrinth of waterways weaving through a simmering jungle to carry the waters of the Orinoco to the Atlantic Ocean. The Orinoco Delta – the landmass now known as Delta Amacuro State – has formed over the course of thousands of years as the mighty river has deposited millions of tonnes of sediment into the ocean.

Los Nevados, Venezuela located in the Sierra Nevada National Park.

The Andean Parque Nacional Sierra Nevada of southwestern Venezuela, barely an hour into our five-hour descent from the 4,045-meter heights of Loma Redonda to the whitewashed walls and red tile roofs of a hidden hamlet called Los Nevados.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“When the sun has set, no candle can replace it.”
― George R.R. Martin

Related articles
22 thoughts on “Travel Theme: Sunsets

    • I sort of love quotations.. I made a book once for christmas presents for my family and friends.. it was called “thinks I wish I’d said” and it was just about 500 awesome quotes.. only about 2 people got the joke behind the gift..

    • Thanks. The Boston cruise really had me thinking.. I should try to get up that way when I’m in DC.. I know I’ll be going to NY.. A Boston, DC, NY pit stop seems to be in order.

  1. Pingback: Travel Photo of the Year Contest and Travel Theme: Sunset | newsofthetimes

    • Thanks for stopping by.. I also loved yours.. ironically I initially was going to show world sunsets and I had nearly the same sunset you have over the bridge in San Fran.. just not as stunning.. I was a little too far away to actually get a good one.

  2. Pingback: Travel Theme: Sunset | Autumn in Bruges

  3. Great photos!

    I particularly love the yellow sunset in Curaçao. I have very fond memories of my visit there, as we swam with dolphins!

    We have a Sierra Nevada range of mountains here in southern Spain, about an hour´s drive from where I live. 🙂

    • Nice..thanks for stopping by. There are Sierra Nevadas in the U.S. and even in Colombia. It must be one of those names that are just very common.. one common thing about them is the fact they are always beautiful.

    • It was taken in Los LLanos.. plains area where we went on an animal safari… it’s not an exaggeration to say that I’ve had very few boring sunsets to see in Venezuela.. the altitude, mountains and ocean all create for very beautiful sunsets as well as sunrises.. I will miss it here for sure.

  4. Pingback: Travel Theme: Sunset | Eat Travel 'n' Photograph

Watcha wanna say...

