Rainy Days and Mondays


After spending a week off and on in the pouring down rain and then reading Rainy Day Quotes by Life Lessons, I decided that a Rainy Day post was in order.

The best thing one can do when it’s raining is to let it rain.  ~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Rain is my shower – Cambodia

The best kind of rain, of course, is a cozy rain.  This is the kind the anonymous medieval poet makes me remember, the rain that falls on a day when you’d just as soon stay in bed a little longer, write letters or read a good book by the fire, take early tea with hot scones and jam and look out the streaked window with complacency.  ~Susan Allen Toth, England For All Seasons

Rain off my window – Korea

What dreadful hot weather we have!  It keeps me in a continual state of inelegance.  ~Jane Austen

Rain on a hike – Venezuela

It is beautiful when it rains far away in the distance, the bright sun shining on the mound on which you stand, and only a few guerilla drops heralding the approach of the shower towards you. ~John Richard Vernon, “The Beauty of Rain,” 1863

Approaching Rains Venezuela

I am sure it is a great mistake always to know enough to go in when it rains.  One may keep snug and dry by such knowledge, but one misses a world of loveliness.  ~Adeline Knapp

Rain on a puddle Venezuela – picture my sister took

I’m over the bridge and under the rain.~ Mat Kearney

“When it’s pouring rain and you’re bowling along through the wet, there’s satisfaction in knowing you’re out there and the others aren’t.” -Peter Snell

“I know this much about racing in the rain. I know it is about balance. It is about anticipation and patience… about the mind! It is about owning one’s body… It is about believing that you are not you; you are everything. And everything is you.” ― Garth SteinThe Art of Racing in the Rain

Hiding under a bridge from the rain after a run in Venezuela

The way I see it, if you want the rainbow, you gotta put up with the rain. ~ Dolly Parton

After the rain on a hike in Venezuela

A happy rainy day song.

Ooohh I hear laughter in the rain
Walking hand in hand with the one I love
Ooohh how I love the rainy days
And the happy way I feel inside
 “Laughter In The Rain” ~Neil Sedaka

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

10 thoughts on “Rainy Days and Mondays

      • Glad to meet another music-obsessed blogger!! And I completely agree with you…The right kind of music always makes even the dullest of things more interesting… But sadly, I guess no one really has time enough to develop soundtracks for all the events that you want to make for… Maybe, someday…
        Love,
        Sumithra.

Watcha wanna say...

