Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban – Spokane – Going Home


The photo challenge this week was, Urban. I was excited because I LOVE urban/street photography. My first impression of “urban” involved inner city pictures in stark black and white, colorful graffiti laden walls or magnificent buildings, parks and festivities like these from San Francisco, Venezuela, D.C. and New York.

However, the challenge stated “The idea behind urban photography is to photograph your city and the streets where you grew up as they are.  My response to this was, “Oh no, boring.”  I do love a challenge however and so to my city as I saw it on my last visit I go.  I hope you enjoy.

Spokane, Washington – My hometown.

Dick’s Hamburgers. A Spokane ICON.

A river runs through it. Site of the 1974 World’s Fair.

Riverfront Park after the 1974 World’s Fair

Spokane Courthouse across the river from the downtown area.

John Rogers High School. Class of 1985 – Go Pirates.

Whitworth Univeristy. Class of 1998 and again 2003.

The Elk. A local pub in historical Brown’s Addition.

Brown’s addition at my sister’s house.

The Red Wagon in Riverfront Park

Neighborhood Christmas decorations. Yup.

What can I say.  Spokane IS my hometown and no matter how far away I go, I always come back to it.  I was born and raised here. Lived my entire life up to 18 here.  Came back when I was about 23 with my two daughters and spent another 10 years here.  Most vacations I get I go back.  It’s a great place to raise a family and is surrounded by nature 100%.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There are valleys, mountains and streams in every direction AND it’s only about a 4-5 hour drive from Seattle.  I love Spokane and the family and friends I have there.  I hope you enjoyed reading this and looking at the pictures as much as I enjoyed putting it together.

This week’s photo challenge with the daily post is guest hosted by Terence S. Jones of A Guy With a Camera

Urban. The idea behind urban photography is to photograph your city and the streets where you grew up as they are. Unlike the photoshopped pictures to which we are accustomed nowadays, urban photography presents a more direct, unaltered view of life. It is about documenting urban living space and how people adapt their environment to certain needs and vice versa. Urban photography shots provide cultural, social, economical, and ecological context all at once, and can capture social tension.

Think of urban photography as a complement to street photography—it provides the context in which street photography unfolds.

Share a photo that means URBAN to you!

Terence S. Jones is an Atlanta-based photographer. Check out his blog,Terence S. Jones Photography – A Guy With a Camera. There, you will find regular updates and current projects as well as other photography-related topics. You can follow him on Facebook and Twitter.

11 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban – Spokane – Going Home

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban | Mirth and Motivation

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge : “Urban” – caught in the fringes of ‘Urban’ India « Just another wake-up call

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban | Tay in Europe

Watcha wanna say...

