Shockproof..


A while ago I made a promise to myself. I promised that I would try to focus on activities and decide if I really enjoyed them before I went crazy and bought every thing connected to my new obsession and then decided I really didn’t enjoy it.  I have always liked taking pictures but never really focused on what I was doing until about 5 years ago.

When I decided that I loved taking pictures I made myself a 2nd promise.  I would encourage my habit every couple years if I was still interested and purchase a simple but upgraded camera.  I have been using the Sony cyber-shot now for my last 3 cameras and have just recently upgraded to 18.2 mega pixels with a 16x optical and up to 32x clear image zoom.  I can’t wait to use it.

At the same time I decided to become a huge fan of extreme sports – Sky-diving, paragliding, rafting, canyoning, jungle-trekking.  These activities make for incredible photo opportunities.. the problem is these activities are very hard on cameras and there is a constant fear of dropping, soaking, sanding, and stepping on the camera.  I tend to be overly protective of the basic point and shoot cameras I have owned.

Because of my new-found obsession conflicting with my long-time obsession I decided to treat myself during my last visit to the U.S. and I bought myself a Nikon CoolPIX waterproof, shockproof ORANGE camera.  It only has an optical zoom of about 5.  However, I had a rafting trip planned and it would be perfect for this type of activity.

The story of my new camera…  So here I have this brand-new, never-used ORANGE camera.

Nikon – Shockproof, waterproof, ORANGE camera

I know.. cool right?  Well, a friend was taking a trip to this amazing beach to Los Roques near Venezuela.  He asked to borrow this never-before used camera.  My first impulse was to just say no.. but the inner me.. the me that is trying so hard to be more giving, nicer, more of a sharing person over-ruled the Id.. and said.. uh.. o.k.  I felt proud of myself and good about the decision. See mom, I grew up and learned how to share.

A few days later my friend returns from his vacation and I asked how the camera worked and very excitedly he said, “GREAT!!!” He paused.. then he said, “It was stolen!!” I couldn’t believe it.  I was SHOCKED.  I thought he was joking.  He wasn’t.  I also thought he was going to cry.  He felt so bad. So I started feeling bad.  He told me he would do everything in his power to get me a new camera, an exact replica of my newly stolen camera and he would get it to me within the next 5 days. Miracle of miracle.. this magic man, bought a camera, shipped it to a friends house who would be traveling back to Venezuela by Tuesday or Wednesday.  I would be leaving Thursday. I know the suspense is killing you.. did I get it?  How did it work out?  Wait for it, wait for it..

“Miracles don’t happen. You make them happen. They’re not wishes or dreams or candles on a cake. They’re not impossible. Reality is real. It’s totally and completely under my control.”  ― Julie Anne PetersFar from Xanadu

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

9 thoughts on “Shockproof..

  1. I’m proud of you for sharing. 🙂 and you post makes me want to go out and shell out for an upgrade on my 4.5 sony cybershot. I’m just afraid that the excellence of my 7 year old cybershot might be a fluke and I’ll never get as good photos ever again with anything else. But I’d also like that 18.2!

  2. Pingback: Broken | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

Watcha wanna say...

