31 days of randomness – Personal Inspiration 21 – Sweet Inspiration


In continuation of my 31 days of randomness – Day 21- A few people in the arts that have inspired me.

Today is about a different kind of list, a list of a few things that have inspired me throughout my life.  A few things that, at the time might not have even have meant a thing to me.  I’m sure if I put my mind to it I could come up with more, but I think this is a good start.  I hope you enjoy.

Artist – Pablo Picasso Inspired me to think outside of the box.  To start drawing and painting and trying to find my own artistic side.  There are parts of me that are so like Picasso.. scattered, abstract and sometimes very incoherent.  Here’s a site to create your own Picassohead – (picassohead.com)

Author – Dr. Seuss (yes that is the real Dr. Seuss) inspired me to love words, tongue twisters, impossible people, places and things and impossibilities in general. He also taught me to truly appreciate myself.  I am Sam, Sam I am..

Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.  – Dr. Seuss

I mean how did he know?

Singer – Well, this is an open and eclectic area.  So many choices and every year I am inspired by yet another amazing singer that spins me into another direction.  I’m not even sure if I can come up with an original singing inspiration.  I love music, all kinds of music and each kind is perfect in its own time.  I think I can say that this artist is one of my very first true favorites that inspired my lyrical and vocal senses so I’m going to go with it.

Singer – Tracy Chapman – I first heard her singing when I was only about 20 years old.  I loved the intonations and low range that she used to tell her various stories. Her voice was low, deep and unique.  In truth when I first heard her sing I wasn’t even sure if it was a man or a woman.  Her tone helped me grow my own and appreciate my own voice.  “Fast Car” was the first song I heard her sing but my favorite song was “Remember the Tin Man” It had and still holds great meaning for me as does “The Promise” When I listen to them know my heart still tightens.. though now for much different reasons.

Actors- Like singers, I am inspired by a variety of different actors and inspired in different ways at different times for different reasons.  For this I will focus on an actor that has consistently made me laugh and cry and I have believed every character this actor has portrayed.  Again there are more but I really, really love this one.

Actor – Tom Hanks –  I can honestly say I have loved every character this man has played.  There is something about him that makes me smile (and sometimes cry) in every movie I’ve seen him in.  I can’t even put into words all the reasons I like him and I can’t help but think he is probably about the same in person as he is in film.. which is odd when you look at all of the characters he has played.  Big kid, serious man, funny man, dad, son, friend… believable in all roles.  I think it’s his sincerity in all of the roles I have seen him in that really inspire me.

This all started from a random site I found called thenester.com.  Apparently there is a group of people who have committed to posting a topical theme a day for 31 days.  31 Dayers 2012

4 thoughts on “31 days of randomness – Personal Inspiration 21 – Sweet Inspiration

Watcha wanna say...

