iPhoneography Monday: Black & White


Over the weekend I attended the Nepali Festival in DC.  It was an interesting introduction to time management and organizational skills in Nepal.  I arrived early so I didn’t have to wait in any food lines.. so I was one of the lucky ones.  All in all I had a good time and was able to enjoy delicious momo’s, goat curry and a spicy potato salad.  I was also able to purchase a few gift t-shirts and a very beautiful knife which I will send to my son-in-law who loves collectors knives.

This particular knife is called a “खुकुरी” and is an example of the national knife of Nepal. they are also called Gurkha knives and are used by most Nepalese for cooking, cutting wood, decoration and safety.  They are very well-known for their cutting power.. and even this older knife I bought ($15) was so sharp I was afraid to take it out of it’s cover…which by the way was also very sharp.  The name Gurkha comes from the original use of the knife by Gurkha soldiers since 1814.  Beautiful piece.  There are some interesting stories around this knife that I won’t post here as they are pretty gruesome.  I hope you enjoy.

549585_10151417120078282_1382360935_n

For more of the iPhoneography Monday posts, check out Sally’s Black & White edition at Lens & Pens by Sally; and Polly’s post onWatching Photo Reels. If you wish to join the fun, you can find the mechanics here.

 

9 thoughts on “iPhoneography Monday: Black & White

  1. Pingback: iPhoneography Challenge: Black-and-White Photography | Lens and Pens by Sally

  2. Pingback: IRIS Pet Food Scoop, 2 Cups, Clear

  3. Pingback: iPhoneography Monday Challenge: Black and white | blogagaini

Watcha wanna say...

