Travel theme: Distance


Nepal

Ailsa’s travel theme this week is Distance.  Perfect theme for me as I am currently preparing to go very far away.  As I mentioned in my last post I am less than 3 weeks from heading off to Nepal.

country name Nepal in Devanagariscript *screen...

country name Nepal in Devanagariscript *screen shot –Immanuel Giel 09:20, 1 Mar 2005 (UTC) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My head is full of Nepali and exhausted so I’m trying to find ways to rest my mind and enjoy a little bit of my remaining time in DC. While I prepare to go far away I am also trying to distance myself a little from the people near me and my life in the U.S.  As excited as I am to head out once again, I know that I will with as much passion and sadness miss the friends that are currently closest to me as well as my daughters who will not be traveling with me.

A friend who is far away is sometimes much nearer than one who is at hand. Is not the mountain far more awe-inspiring and more clearly visible to one passing through the valley than to those who inhabit the mountain?  

Khalil Gibran

Last weekend a friend and I took a trip to Richmond, Virginia where we took a day to pamper ourselves (she is learning Vietnamese and will soon be off to ..duh.. Vietnam).  We spent a 2nd day in the area before returning to DC visiting a local winery.  While I”m not sure if the photos express distance so much as my sentiment does I hope you enjoy.

Windsor Wineries in Virginia

Windsor Wineries in Virginia

Windsor Wineries in Virginia

Windsor Wineries in Virginia – Cheers U.S.

Now it’s your turn to bring your most distant, faraway places to the foreground. If you would like to join in this week’s travel theme (everyone is welcome!) here’s what to do:

  • Create your own post and title it Travel Theme: Distance
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Get your post in by next Thursday, as the new travel theme comes out on Friday
  • Don’t forget to subscribe to keep up to date on the latest weekly travel themes. Sign up via the email subscription link in the sidebar or via RSS.
28 thoughts on “Travel theme: Distance

    • It’s weird.. with all of the social network sites I don’t feel really far away.. and I usually never really say good-bye.. hopefully my kids will visit.. have tons of friends coming (why wouldn’t they) and then I plan on going to diff countries and visiting other friends. I will be in Nepal for 2 years. So crazy but that’s what I love about this job.

      • Yes Skype etc does make it easy to be so far away. I have been away almost 4 and my parents STILL don’t have a computer and my brother just installed skype. They don’t feel the need since we have been home each Christmas and summer. My husband also makes an extra trip home each year. Since this is our last year here we are really thinking to stay all year and get to see more of Asia, so it will be harder. Hopefully with Skype it will be easier.

          • The travel home is good for the familar, but hard with the long flights. I like to go home and see my little nephews, but we are missing out on so many travel opprotunities here. This year we are going to try and stay here and travel as much as we can. Once we go home we won’t get a chance to travel and see much of Asia, so we need to try and make the most of it.

            • Yeah take advantage of it while you are there. I feel fortunate that I was able to go to so many places in and around the countries I visited. It is true you NEVER know when you might go back.

            • It was family that brought us home each time… they needed us there more than we needed a holiday. Same reason you never know what will happen, so we spent time with them when they needed us most. Hopefully this year we can spend time here. Everyone knows it is our last year and they are understanding and hoping we too can travel more… so time to break in my new backpack! 🙂

            • You never know 😉 Same ofer stands if you come to China. ALthough I heard from other Americans it can be a pain to get a visa with all the paper work you need. I think it is their way to condition you for the problems you may encounter here. If you can survive the visa process anything after that is easy. 😉

            • I went to Shanghai a few years ago with my daughter and it took less than a week to get a visa so I don’t think it will be that bad. I’ll keep you posted on when I’m heading that way. Probably won’t be for at least 5 months, but you never know.

  1. LOL, now I know how the hell you ended up reading my blog! I’ve been to Richmond too, but that’s another story 🙂 Let’s just say I managed to get two Americans into Indian food, so my work there was done! Nepal will be an amazing experience for you. It’s not an easy place, when you’re used to things working and general convenience, but if you can ignore that and just enjoy the people, the history, the sounds, the smells, the culture and the absolute wonder of it, you’ll have memories that will last forever.Wishing you a wonderful time.

    • Thanks.. I’m super (usually never use that word) excited to go. I’ll be there 2 years. I lived in Korea for 3 years teaching English and then got this new job and spent 2 years in Venezuela. I usually love all the places I go. I loved Venezuela, which definitely had its challenges but I still loved it so I’m sure it will be the same way in Nepal. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      • Me? Oh it was just a three week trip a long time ago. It’s a place that leaves an imprint on you though. How I wish I’d had a digital camera back then. Having said that, no camera can capture a picture like the mind can. The mind captures the scents and sounds and textures and so on as well as the image. I’m @corporal_kleg on Twitter – please request a follow as I’d be interested to see how you get on.

Watcha wanna say...

