Acting like a tourist – karma, infinity and architecture


IMG_2686

I like to see myself as a bridge builder, that is me building bridges between people, between races, between cultures, between politics, trying to find common ground.
T. D. Jakes

Pashupatinath

Is very close to where I live.  It is near the central part of Kathmandu and only Hindu’s are allowed to enter the actual temple.  Though the entire area is a photographer’s dream location.  Ironically we were not planning on going there today and so unusual to my nature all I had on me today was my iPhone.  The pictures came out nice but you can bet I’ll be heading back to take better pictures with my regular camera.  The temple was built to worship the Lord Shiva and it sits next to the Bagmati river where cremations are held daily.  Sometimes upwards of 50 a day. 

Swayambhunath
Is located about a 10 minute drive from the Pashupatinath area.  I was told it’s about 2000 years old.  You are supposed to enter the area and walk clock-wise around the stupa where you will be able to see the eyes of the Buddha painted on all sides.  It’s amazing with the masses walking around and stopping at all of the little stores set up on all sides.   I’m looking forward to visiting both places again with my other cameras at the ready as well as a pile of small coins and bills to barter with the shopkeepers and buy small trinkets from the people wandering around with their wares.

9 thoughts on “Acting like a tourist – karma, infinity and architecture

    • Loved yours as well.. I was surprised at the quality.. I was so mad at myself for not having my camera but we were only going to go to a place I had been before then changed our plans as we were driving.. lesson learned.

Watcha wanna say...

