Taking it to the Streets


I love big cities and I love both small and big city streets.  I love the sounds, the smells, the people, the buildings and the opportunities you can find when you just keep your eyes open.

Just a few glimpses of some of my most recent street scenes from Vietnam.  I decided to focus only on a few of my very favorite black and white shots.  There is something about a black and white picture that makes the scene feel timeless.  I hope you enjoy.

I see people walking through the city and wonder where they’ve been, and what the moments of their lives have done to them.    ― Markus ZusakGetting the Girl

“I think of it as the antidote to fast food; it’s the clear alternative to the king, the clown and the colonel. It’s faster, and chances are it’s healthier than something at a traditional fast food restaurant. I would much rather give my money to a neighbor or an individual than to a gigantic corporation that owns half the world. Maybe it’s naïve of me, but I prefer food made by an identifiable human that’s actually cooking.”  – Chef, author and TV personality Anthony Bourdain talks to the Huffington Post about his love of street food and his new TV show

The following is a short news clip about Venezuela where I was last working.  It’s amazing how quickly street scenes can change.  My heart and prayers go out to my Venezuelan friends and it is my hope that street scenes like this will soon disappear.

There may be times when we are powerless to prevent injustice, but there must never be a time when we fail to protest.

Caracas Streets

The weekly photo challenge from March 28 was Street Life. If you have read any of my posts about streets you will know how much I love street art and quotes.  Here is a great page that represents a little of both.  Take a look.  I think you will like it.

Street ART (click on the link to look at more of Banksy quotes and street art photos)

“Graffiti is one of the few tools you have if you have almost nothing.
And even if you don’t come up with a picture to cure world poverty you can make someone smile while they’re having a piss.”
– Banksy (Banging Your Head Against a Brick Wall)

A few more Street Life blogs I really liked:

  1. Walkable Streets – Quotes
  2. Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life « The Neophyte Photographer
  3. Streets Of San Francisco | this man’s journey
  4. weekly photo challenge: street lifeI used to be indecisive
  5. Prague Street Life
  6. My Hood
  7. Street Life Mosaic
  8. The hole
  9. Call of the street – Royal Enfield

2 thoughts on “Taking it to the Streets

  1. Life on the streets captures the real issues of the moment. It even shows the unguarded feelings and emotions of people as it happens. Today, you showed us all that and more. Beautiful!

  2. Pingback: Back to Street Art.. Istanbul | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

Watcha wanna say...

