Tatts like Street Art


“Ink to paper is thoughtful
Ink to flesh, hard-core.
If Shakespeare were a tattooist
We’d appreciate body art more.” 
― Terri Guillemets

Not a lot to say on this one.  I’m as fascinated with tattoos as I am with graffiti or street art. I may one day get a tattoo.. or not.. but I love looking at them and watching others get them. Lucky for me I found out by accident that the 4th Annual Nepal Tattoo Convention was going to be in town.  I might have even finally found that tattoo that I will have put on my body someplace.. or not..

Enjoy.

Tattoos are like stories – they’re symbolic of the important moments in your life. Sitting down, talking about where you got each tattoo and what it symbolizes, is really beautiful.

Though many photos are not as close-up as the theme intends, it was as close as I have been to this art form as I have ever been.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“The human body is the best work of art.” 
― Jess C. Scott

Some of the other close-up themes I enjoyed.

  1. TT: Close up – Across the Bored
  2. Spring Macro | Canoe Communications
  3. Travel Theme: Close Up (Far Away) | The Quotidian Hudson
  4. Myopically | Le Drake Noir
  5. Don-Key! | Beyond the Brush Photography
  6. Weekly travel theme- Close-up (Tasmania) | pdjpix
  7. Trucks and Cranes | Monochrome
  8. Weekly Travel theme- Close-up Venice | pdjpix
  9. Close Encounters of the Animal Kind’ | anotherdayinparadise
  10. Weekly Photo Challenge – close up | Third Person Travel
  11. Travel Theme: Close-Up | Taking One Day At A Time
  12. Up Close with a Ghost | The Wanderlust Gene
  13. Weekly Travel Theme: Close-up « Leya
  14. Travel theme:Close up | So where’s the snow?
  15. Travel Theme: Close-Up | Tim Wolverson – Photography
  16. WPC (Spring) and Travel Theme (Close-Up) | alien shores
  17. Travel Theme : Close-up/Jarak Dekat | bambangpriantono
  18. Travel Theme: Close-up | Never Nothing Going On
  19. Closeness provides intimacy | Le Drake Noir
  20. Travel Theme: Close-Up | Shoot ‘N Go

8 thoughts on “Tatts like Street Art

    • It was most interesting just walking around. My daughters both have a few tatts.. my youngest teases me and says that me wanting a tattoo and getting one is like her wanting to exercise and actually do it.. Ain’t gonna happen..ha.

  1. Great pics!

    If you’ve just found something you wants as a tattoo, my advise would be to wait a year – if you still want the same tattoo then – go for it. 😀

    I got 3, and all in places where they can easily be hidden by items of clothing. I didn’t get them to “show them off”, I got them for ME. All were planned for years in advance… none of them are big, but I didn’t want to regret getting any of them, so I waited until I was certain it was something I wanted on my body until the day I die. 🙂

    • I probably won’t get one.. but I’ve had an image of 3 in my head for about 5 years now. I am very with you on the just for me thing.. I know where it would go but until the image of 3 solidifies itself nothings going on. The artist I was most impressed with was from France.. www.http://philippespe.blogspot.com/ and he has a great way with putting your ideas down.. so if I get to France then you never know..

Watcha wanna say...

