A Tale of Two Cities – Spokane and New York City


Ok.. so I love my job.  I love my life.  I am blessed with it all.  However, I’m still a little homesick and sometimes envious of so many of my friends.  Maybe it’s Facebook’s fault.. seriously.  There is a thing called Facebook envy.  This is something that revolves around how our self esteem and even our happiness is negatively affected by spending so much time looking at the perfect lives that our friends and family are projecting on this and other social network sites.  Everyone I know seems to be spending their time with family and long time friends. everyone is having a great time and toasting the holidays.

Realistically we all know that we all post only the best portions of our own lives and our best looks on social media.  Even knowing this, I can’t help but feel a little sorry for myself on a bad day and wish I was also hanging with my family and friends. (Picture me stomping my foot, pouting or throwing myself on the couch and crying about how everyone in the social media world is spending so much lovely time with their family and close friends.)

The Daily Post’s May 5 prompt “A Tale of Two Cities” made me go back and look at my favorite places in the world and I finally narrowed down the two places I would split my time with if I could only split my time between two places.  In fairness it only took me about all of 2 seconds to decide on these 2 places however, it was fun looking back at all of the places I have been.

My first choice is an obvious one.  Spokane, Wa because that is where the majority of my family is.  Spokane is where I grew up and where I finally returned to raise my kids.  Spokane is the place where I always wanted to leave but always love returning to in order to reconnect with friends, family and just the city.  I especially love Spokane in the Summer.  My city has a beautiful river that runs through it, a giant park in it’s city center that was once a rail station and became the home of the 1974 World’s Fair which ended up transforming the city.  (World Fair Spokane, WA) It was the smallest city to host the world’s fair and it was also the first to focus on environmental issues rather than on futuristic themes.

Then:

Now:

Other events Spokane is now Known for:

BloomsdayLilac FestivalArt FestHoopfestPigout In The ParkSpokane Interstate FairFirst Night Spokane

My own personal visions and memories of Spokane.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My second city would be New York.  I love it so much that I have actually been requesting it adopt me.  I love New York for virtually the same reasons I love Spokane.  I have a variety of friends and family living there.  Every trip I have taken there has been loaded with fun and great memories.  New York will always hold a special place in my heart and mind.  Even if it doesn’t adopt me. Though I don’t know why it wouldn’t.  Maybe there is a law against it.  I’m not sure.  I do love New York and I love my friends and family who live there.  There is always something going on in New York and always someone who is willing to do it with you.  Whatever IT is.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Other posts I liked.

  1.  Home is Where the Heart is
  2. A Tale of Two Cities or Ages
  3. All Things Cute and Beautiful
  4. Tucked Into A corner
  5. New York City and LA
  6. Life is Great
  7. New York and Pennsylvania
  8. Wherever she is
  9. Hung
  10. Turkey and the Big Apple
One thought on “A Tale of Two Cities – Spokane and New York City

  1. Pingback: 15+ Nearly 21 | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

Watcha wanna say...

