Converse Thoughts


“Write against patterns. Go against the devils. Write what you never write. Lie. Validate what you don’t validate. Indulge what you don’t like. Wallow in it. Write the opposite of what you always write, think, speak. Do everything against the grain!”
― Deena Metzger

Usually my blogs are very photo centric with very limited written input.  Todays prompt by the Daily press was a good one as I haven’t been taking very many photos lately based on language training and other activities that have been keeping me incredibly busy and photogenically uninspired.  I’ve also had a couple of very heavy losses among a few of my friends and so in honor of “opposite” prompt I will today present the opposite of the pictures I usually post.

Converse

dep_2075472-Speedometer---slow-to-insanely-fastFast/Slow

I remember very distinctly a time in my life when I wished time would speed up so I could do all of the things I wanted to do.  Now I am where I wanted to be and find I hardly have time to do the things I need to do.  How fast it goes now.  I have no power to slow it down so I just hang on tight and try to enjoy the ride.

                                                                                                                              Young/Old

imagesI remember going to my grandparents house and relishing in the smells, tastes and stories they would tell.  Never in my life could I have imagined there would be a time when I would have grandchildren of my own.  I never once considered how it would feel to look down at their precious faces and see several histories written there.  I never contemplated the effect it would have on me as I watched the young start their journey in taking my place.                                                                      Crazy / Sane

144159

What was once rational has now become insane and what I once would have considered beyond belief is now in my realm of doing and is being done by the masses on a regular basis.  What is crazy and who is sane?  We live in a mad, mad world where so many things do not make sense and yet the crazier it gets the more normal it seems. I’m not even sure what would be shocking to me or what could possibly shock an entire generation of young people.

Further, is NOT being shocked at anything good or bad?  I’m torn.

Is to is not as beginning is to end

begin-beginning-till-come-end--large-msg-126738539784How do you feel with where you are and with who and what you are?  Are you nearing the end or simply approaching a new beginning?  How can you possibly tell?  Is it an attitude or an actuality?  Young / old / fast / slow / crazy / sane.  Just words? So many things are simply individual perspectives.  My opinion and reality vs. yours.  Ours vs. theirs.  We tell ourselves the stories that bring comfort and understanding but which are the is’s and which are the is nots?  When are the beginnings and where are the endings?  What are the truths and which are the lies?  Is it possible that even if we knew the is and the is not and the beginning or the end that we would choose differently than we already did?

quote-now-this-is-not-the-end-it-is-not-even-the-beginning-of-the-end-but-it-is-perhaps-the-end-of-winston-churchill-37226

7 thoughts on “Converse Thoughts

  1. Pingback: How My Grandchildren View Me… | Joseph Rathjen - Freelance Writing

  2. Personally, I think it would be a very scary world if nothing shocked people any more. It is already scary with the lack of response in people when things that once shocked, shock no more. And I enjoyed the Churchill quote.

    • Thanks. I agree.. but even when I posed this question to myself I wondered what it would take to actually shock me. I can never think of an answer.. then I read the news.

  3. Pingback: Opposite day | Travellin' Thru Rambles

  4. Pingback: Opposite Day: | Khana's Web

  5. Interesting post. The beginning of the end? – quite possibly. Everywhere things that have been hidden are being exposed – Edward Snowden’s revelations are a good example. Things are no longer what they seemed but are being revealed, in many cases, to be much murkier and darker than we had imagined. At the same time there are intimations that change is coming. Recently I had an unexpected discussion about meditation, reincarnation and spiritual development with my very materialist 10 year old grandson. He initiated the conversation. I had no idea he was capable of such thoughts. We had a mutual meditation for a few minutes and he told me had taught himself to meditate when he was six.

    • That’s fantastic. I love it. I have heard that the pendulum swings back and forth.. whether it be about education, crime, politics. I agree. I also feel that we may be reaching the end of the current pendulum and life will soon enough be changing to something else.. Part of me wishes I could see the future but most of me is glad I can’t.

Watcha wanna say...

