31 days of randomness – Personal Inspiration day 18 – Associations


In continuation of my 31 days of randomness – Day 18 – googily googily goo – go and find a random positive thing and do it.

So I’ve been feeling like I was not going to be able to continue this 31 day project of randomness.. I’ve looked at music, love, random acts and on the list goes. I’ve actually been impressed with myself for making it to day 18.  Follow through is not always my strongest quality.  I was desperate.  However, like the trooper I am I decided that today I would google a random inspiration suggestion and just do the first thing that popped up.  Lucky for me this is what I got –

Now the reason this is lucky for me is I am surrounded by people that are always improving themselves and for the most part pretty positive so this specific task is going to be super easy.  My concern is that it is going to be too easy.  Too easy in the sense that I will be required to get out of bed and go to work, complete my day and just return home.  Nothing different about my day.

Being an over-achiever I questioned myself as to whether or not this was really a worthy inspirational challenge for me or was I just getting lazy.  Honestly, some of my past posts are inspirational to me but not really a challenge.  For instance, smiling.  I do that all the time.  Nothing outside of the box there.  Laughing- same. So how is hanging with people who have the potential to improve me any kind of challenge? Hmm..

Well, what if I try to be a person who is worthy enough to associate with in a way that might lead to improving someone else’s life?  How would I approach that one without sounding egotistical, “Hey guy, you want to hang with me so you can better yourself?”  No that even sounds terrible in my head.  Leading by example?  I’ve confused myself now.  How am I inspiring myself towards improvement if I am really only trying to help someone else improve their own life or outlook by simply being around me?  How could I even assume that I would be so awesome that other’s will naturally be better people simply from the residue of awesomeness that I am?  Don’t get me wrong.. I am awesome.  Maybe I should just hang with myself.  I could rub off on me.  O.K. I know.. I am now just being ridiculous.  I know this.. so hmm again.

Well now, this is actually a harder inspiration then I had first thought.  So, I continued googling (is that a real word yet?) and came across a website called “The happiness project.”  One of it’s blog entries mentioned you should start a “commandment list” She listed 12 personal commandments.  This site actually even gives great ideas on how to create this list.

My googling day has actually given me 3 inspirational activities. 1. Hang with some people who will improve my outlook thereby improving myself. 2.  Be a person who others can associate with to improve theirs (just don’t tell them that’s why you are doing it or they might not really want to hang with you). and 3. Create a commandment list (or personal manifesto if you prefer) of things that you can actually look at on a daily basis that will solidly improve your life and make you a better person and therefore a person others might find nice to hang around and associate with.

My commandments:

1. Be Samantha.
2. Live in the moment.
3. Listen more.
4. Do it now.
5. Smooth out what’s too rough.
6. Keep what works.
7. Act out.
8. Play fair.
9. Slow down
10. Accept
11. Rough up what is too smooth.
12. Be an example.
13. Breathe in.
14. Exhale.

This all started from a random site I found called thenester.com.  Apparently there is a group of people who have committed to posting a topical theme a day for 31 days.  31 Dayers 2012

7 thoughts on “31 days of randomness – Personal Inspiration day 18 – Associations

  1. This is a fantastic post! That quote you found is really, really good – and a way I seem to be living, too. I totally get your questioning of wether or not it’s a challenge if it’s something can comes naturally!

    I love your writing style – I’ll be back to visit again soon! I’m doing the 31 day challenge, too, though…so most of my time these days is spent trying to keep up! 🙂

  2. 3DMagix is the option to Autodesk’s cartoon software. Well unless you’re planning on making a 3D model in Autodesk Maya or Newtek Lightwave,
    your little guy’s going to visually exist in two dimensions.

    Notable projects include: Titanic, Babylon 5, Star Trek Voyager and Jimmy Neutron Boy Genius.

Watcha wanna say...