Daily Prompt: The Power of Touch


Finally I can highlight some of my favorite most recent photos from my lowly travels here. Texture form the Daily Post nails it. I am a very tactile person and Nepal is full of some amazing tactual statutes, walls and even people.  (Though I have been keeping my hands to myself).

I hope you enjoy the following photos from the Maha Buddha Temple and Patan Durbar Square area.

DSC05350

Patan is one of the oldest royal cities in the Valley and it is a world heritage site. There are apparently 1,000s of Buddhist monuments scattered throughout this area.  DSC05227

It was crazy interesting.  For example you can walk down these teeny, tiny alleyways and through these even smaller doorways and come into a Buddhist meeting place.

DSC05230When you enter any area with a temple or shrine you need to walk to the left to go around it.  Even if what you want to see is 3 feet to the right of the entry way.  There was so much history here. And such tiny places to crawl through to get to them.  Very few of us could enter into an area without ducking to get through the doors.DSC05148

The dedication to texture, structure, history and peacefulness was amazing. I will in a future post highlight some of my favorite people shots from Nepal so far, but for now I will leave you with one of my very favorite people shots from this day.

DSC05216

“Walk as if you are kissing the Earth with your feet.” ― Thích Nhất Hạnh

I hope you enjoy.

17 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: The Power of Touch

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Power of Touch | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Texture | Tommia's Tablet

  3. Pingback: Good Wood | The Jittery Goat

  4. Pingback: The Power of Touch | A mom's blog

  5. Pingback: The Power of Touch | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  6. Pingback: Hold me closer, Tony Danza | Manresa, Maine

  7. Pingback: As smooth as a baby’s butt | I am Lynn

Watcha wanna say...