31 days of randomness – Personal Inspiration 23- Plagiarize


In continuation of my 31 days of randomness  – Day 23 – Smarter than me

“Every person you meet knows something you don’t. Learn from them.” – H. Jackson Brown, Jr.

As I’m nearing the end of this 31 day quest for inspiration, I am finding it harder and harder to think of new and interesting things to write about.  Truth be told I have commitment issues and 31 days is a very long time to stay with one word.. “inspiration” how I’m coming to despise you.  I know that’s not fair.  In fact I am the one who chose you, you didn’t choose me.

I’m going to give myself a break today and not beat myself up though.. I’ve been working hard outside of my home and the fact is, I don’t have a personal idea for inspiration in me.  My brain is wiped.  I tried the googily thing again and nothing that popped up inspired me.  I ended up going to a quotes page to find my mojo and I did in fact find the above quote.  I put the above quote into my best friend google and then I decided to give a different search engine an opportunity to provide me with some insight and inspiration and here is what I came up with.  What I found out was that all of the ideas I’ve been struggling to come up with are already out there.  Seriously!  While I have been studiously trying to re-invent the creative wheel there are ALREADY hundreds.. no actually millions of these same ideas ALREADY stated (AND) stated much better than I am actually able to state them.

Instead of feeling super BAD about myself I’ve decided to give credit to where credit is due and just plagiarize some of the best of what I find today.  I know the act of plagiarism is not in and of itself inspirational.  As a matter of fact it’s just plain wrong.  HOWEVER, my point is giving credit to where credit is due which makes it not plagiarism.. right?  Don’t just enjoy these links.  Check them out, read a few of them and try to even do some of them.  These people that put these together are truly smarter than me.. and probably smarter than you as well.. I’m just saying..

Google hit #2 

Discovering the things you don’t know you don’t know.

Tanner Christensen
by Tanner Christensen – in 164 Google+ circles – More by Tanner Christensen

5 days ago – “Every person you meet knows something you don’t. Learn from them.” – H. Jackson Brown, Jr. There are more than 4000000 pages of content 

This is actually a very amazing site that had me hooked for over 25 minutes today.  It offers great articles that are truly inspiring. The article itself was a great inspiration about stepping out of your box and developing an inquiring mind. It’s about attempting to learn something and seeking wisdom.  Other articles here include how being a good consumer can make you a better creator, the law of subtraction.. and on and on.. not going to be a spoiler here, but do think that every article I hit on was a good read.

Ok.. the truth is this quote only produced an inspirational web page in google. So for the following inspirational sites, I had to take portions of this quote and plug them into different sites which produced mildly inspirational quotes pages but nothing as inspirational as the first search. So, I tried breaking down the quote and re-inserting various parts into the search engine and nada, zip, zilch, nothing.  So instead of trying to morph this entry into a very long-winded entry about changing course or re-writing it only to support my initial idea of plagiarism and using only that one very cool site to write about,  I think I will stop here.  Seriously check out that one though, it’s very full of great ideas.

This all started from a random site I found called thenester.com.  Apparently there is a group of people who have committed to posting a topical theme a day for 31 days.  31 Dayers 2012

Watcha wanna say...

