Dérive


Dérive (n.) – Origin:Latin/French – A spontaneous journey where the traveler leaves their life behind for a time to let the spirit of the landscape and architecture attract and move them.

Venezuela was my first posting.  I have some of the fondest memories of this place and hope to one day be able to go back and revisit some of my favorite places and discover new ones.  This was a very special time in my life for so many reasons.  I hope can you vicariously enjoy some of my favorite times there.

Skydiving and Canyoning

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Merida

Colonia Tovar

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Port Ordaz/Ciudad Bolivar/ Playas/Chichiriviche Cerca de Morocoy/ Santa Theresa/ Avila/ Caracas

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Catatumbo/ Delta Orinoco/ Los LLanos / otres partes

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you asked me what my favorite part of living and working in Venezuela was, I would not be able to answer.  I loved all of it.  My colleagues, my friends, the random people I met and places I went.  Just so many good things.  Like I said, I would love, love, love to go back and hopefully one day I will.

Venezuela: Geri; Barbara; Luke; Isaiah; Elliot; Oliver; Dillan; Noah; Mason; ravanji; Rob; Archyde;

2 thoughts on “Dérive

  1. I have to be honest. Venezuela has not been on my list of places to go. (That is now a bucket list, so it shortens each year.) I hope you get to go there — your wonderful photos show how beautiful and interesting a place it is. I will probably not make it, but I appreciate learning more about places I don’t normally think about.

Watcha wanna say...