Coddiwomple


Coddiwomple (v.) – Origin: English Slang Word – Definition: To travel in a purposeful manner towards a vague destination.

Tsunami Sam

This is possibly and probably the most accurate word that describes my travels through life.  I have coddiwompled my way through every path I have taken.  I seldom look back.  Even seldomer look back with regret.  There is nothing I can do to change or mend the past and so it is a constant and purposeful march forward.

I have been accused of running from situations.   This is a lie or a bit of confusion on the part of the observers.  I never run from, I always run to.. to sun, smiles, laughter, stronger than me people, change, life, experiences, expressions, desires, beauty, music, dreams.  I do it with intent, with purpose, with hope.

It is true that I often do not know exactly where I am going or where I will end up.  I just know that standing still equals never ending up anywhere. Constantly moving towards things does not necessarily mean moving entirely from where you are standing, it simply means moving mentally and sometimes physically towards these vague destinations.

And WOW… the places these marches have taken me!.

I keep traveling towards things because there is no other option for me.  I’m at a point in my life where I will be making some very heavy decisions about how I want to continue coddiwomping through the rest of my days.  Do I want to plant my feet solidly in one place to allow deep roots to form again, or do I want to keep physically moving around.

I’m not bothered by vagueness. Vagueness, to me, means possibilities.  One day I will be less able to physically and forcefully march towards those crazy dreams and vague promises of excitement and adventure.  So until then, I will coddiwomple, burn, rage, dream, cry, dance, and blaze towards ……

royal throne

………….  I guess we will just have to wait and see!

Do not go gentle into that good night

Dylan Thomas – 1914-1953

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Though wise men at their end know dark is right,
Because their words had forked no lightning they
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Good men, the last wave by, crying how bright
Their frail deeds might have danced in a green bay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Wild men who caught and sang the sun in flight,
And learn, too late, they grieved it on its way,
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Grave men, near death, who see with blinding sight
Blind eyes could blaze like meteors and be gay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

And you, my father, there on the sad height,
Curse, bless, me now with your fierce tears, I pray.
Do not go gentle into that good night.
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Other Coddiwomplers: RV; HC; Sheri; John; Robert; Rick; M&M; BristolMum; TWS; 1K2: noble; Kathleen; C2D

Watcha wanna say...