Hardcore – 80s



Though punk rock ‘s first wave was a strictly ’70s phenomenon, the form most certainly bled into the ’80s, primarily on America’s West Coast, where scores of bands forged a more concentrated, speedy and aggressive form of punk called hardcore.        
I never got into punk rock when I was in high-school back in the 80s.  I liked a wide variety of music but I was more of a bubblegum pop kind of girl.  I also did not enjoy metal.  I think that’s why I find it interesting that I currently am surprised by all of the music that I now really like.  What sounded like metal to me in the 80s, is now classic rock!! What was punk, is now, well still punk.. but I enjoy quite a bit of it.  Though I am still a bit of a bubblegum pop kind of girl..
(I really searched long and hard for a slang phrase to end my thoughts on the subject of punk… as you can imagine… there were not a lot of counter-culture words or phrases associated with that genre and era.  Likely that is largely due to slang for groups would have sort of been the anti-thing to create for the punk groups.)
I was walking through the neighborhood today and ran into the below window display.  Despite not being into that genre for sound, I have always loved the style.
“My eyes burn with tears, and I’m so tired. So tired of holding back everything I feel and want to say. So tired of being someone I’m not and making mistakes that I didn’t have any fun making.”  ― Penelope Douglas

“She smashes her knuckles into winter
As autumn’s wind fades into black
She is the saint of all the sinners,
the one whose fallen through the cracks…  ~~~(iViva la Gloria!)” ~  Billie Joe Armstrong

“Dont test me,
Second guess me,
Protest me,
You will DISAPEAR!

(East Jesus of Nowhere)” ~~~ Billie Joe Armstrong

“Punk rock should mean freedom, liking and excepting anything that you like. Playing whatever you want. As sloppy as you want. As long as it’s good and it has passion.”
― Kurt Cobain

a sort of spirit.; The Smug Pistols: Posh Anarchy From the Upper Class Punk Band; Wheels!; Favourite of the month #75; Various – Johnny Hanson Presents… Puck Rock Vol. 1 Alternative Rock, Garage Rock, Punk Music Album Compilation; The Blue-Haired Lady; THE WHO: Hooligans (1981); London’s Lost Music Venues; Fischer & Forde : It’s Just Business; Rebellion 2022 – Friday;  End of the Road 2022

punk  [pəNGk]  ~~ NOUN ~ punk rock (noun)

  1. a loud, fast-moving, and aggressive form of rock music, popular in the late 1970s and early 1980s:    “punk had turned pop music and its attendant culture on its head”
    • an admirer or player of punk rock, typically characterized by colored spiked hair and clothing decorated with safety pins or zippers.

2 thoughts on “Hardcore – 80s

  1. I was too busy in that space of time raising 4 small children that I almost lost my connection with music — which I loved during college and until I had kids. My oldest daughter introduced me to some bands like Pearl Jam, and I like their music. My son 4 years younger was into Metallica, Green Day, and much heavier louder music, which I never leared to appreciate!

    • Isn’t it always that way? I feel like I was connected to so many generations of music. Of course, the music I grew up with.. then the music my daughters grew up with.. now my grandkids… I am still not into heavy or loud music.. but I can tolerate it depending on my mood. I only recently started really paying attention to the words of the music I was never into when I was young. Kind of amazing.. all of it.

Watcha wanna say...