And the winner is…


 When you choose to be pleasant and positive in the way you treat others, you’ve also chosen, in most cases, how you are going to be treated by others.  ˜Justice Cabral

I’d first like to say I started blogging only for my family and a few close friends who have been a special part of my life.  I wanted to go back and relive some of my recent highlights and share some of my upcoming travels and experiences.

Further, I was trying to find an outlet just to “talk” without opening my mouth.  I had a professor once who said, “Sam, you are a diamond in the rough.  You need to find an outlet for your… uh..well.. “creative” way of expressing yourself.” I realized later he was probably politely telling me to shut it.. ha.  My current boss has had to tell me a few times to “focus” think about what I want to say before saying it and I will go farther in my life/career than I might imagine.   I’ve been working on my communication skills more than anyone could imagine.  This has been a great outlet for this task and I’ve been enjoying it immensely.  Not just as a way to share a part of my life through pictures but to express my opinion, spout random thoughts and grow in my ability to communicate in many forms. It’s also taken an edge off of my over-active brain.

It has turned into something a little more than that. I have been able to peruse the world of blogging and bloggers which has given me the opportunity to share thoughts that are non-work related, view amazing photography and just laugh at some of the randomness that is out there.  It’s been AWESOME.

It’s also been pretty cool to have so many people visit me here and comment and encourage my whims and often-times skewed view of the world and my life in general.  One of the things I have tried to do all of my life is thank the people who have helped, encouraged or in any way what-so-ever changed my perspective on a subject and opened my eyes to new and interesting things.  I have alluded to this same thing in a past blog and only want to expand on it here.

Pat from I Miss Me, Too nominated me for a couple different awards “Very Inspiring” and “and I appreciate this and I appreciate Pat for being such a great confidence builder.  She talks about life changes and slowing down.  She’s an awesome person.

Diane of Grandmother Musings nominated me for an award as well “Super Sweet”, this was awesome because 1, it’s nice to get recognized and 2, all her compliments seem to be genuine and so knowing that someone appreciates you, truly appreciates you just feels good.  She always has something nice to say and her blog has some special insights, words of wisdom and tips on how to do quite a few things.

I would love to express my thanks and appreciation to Daniela for nominating me for this writing award..  I love this one as my life is about sisterhood.. (2 sisters, 2 daughters, mostly female cousins and tons of girlfriends around the world.)  I appreciate the the visits and continuing comments.

CatKay from Fun and more by Kay, also just nominated me for the supersweet writing award.  Also a supportive reader and interesting blogger so I appreciate the attention.

I do feel like I’m forgetting someone but that’s what you get for procrastinating with these types of thank you’s.  Shame on me.  I was trying to figure out how I could thank people and yet not get sucked into the whole hole of “slug-bug” “pass-it-on” thingy.  Ironically I happened across This n That’s response to awards and more awards and loved his response.. so with that I will end my rant but just saying a big giant thank you to all of the prior nominations and any future nominations.  When I say future… I mean way, way, way into the future until I stop blogging future.. I do appreciate readers and love the kind thoughts that have been expressed by people reading my “voice”.

In a previous post, A photo that,  I mentioned some of my favorites and alluded that I would be mentioning others as time went on.  Those favorites still stand, however so many more are on that list for a variety of reasons.  My initial list included:

Emma’s Life UnravelI Miss Me TooUtesmileTahiras,  Beyond PaisleyWhere’s my BackpackGrandmother’s MusingsSued 51  

and I would now add,

http://thisthatandwhateverelseicanthinkof.wordpress.com for being very interactive and having a conversational tone, http://thirdeyemom.com for beautiful photography and interesting travel stories, http://arindammohapatra.wordpress.com for inspirational ideas, http://beyondpaisley.net/ for being quirky, funny and always egging me on with great comments, http://throughthehealinglens.com for being an accidental photography hobbiest with amazing photography and inspirational posts with a truly touchable reason for starting to blog, http://mixandmatchmeme.wordpress.com/ for refreshing originality and a easy to read blogging style, http://girlinfo.me/ for frequently beautiful posts, http://glitzgirlzglamourguide.com/2012/08/17/ootd-2/ for all things girls love and having 2 girls makes it easy for me to connect,  http://1kthoughts.wordpress.com/ for thought-provoking blogs; http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/ for quirkiness and humor, http://theretiringsort.com/ for interesting imagery and stories that are fun to read.

I could seriously go on.. but really, as stated previously, I read blogs and are attracted to blogs that are quirky, fun, intelligent and help give me insights to my own life as well as to others.  For this I thank all of my visitors and anticipate meeting more, reading more, seeing more and experiencing more of all of you from around the world.  It’s been an amazing experience.  Thanks to all.

6 thoughts on “And the winner is…

  1. Thank you for your very kind words. I have really enjoyed following your blog and have also found that blogging has become a very important part of my life. It is a fun way to find connections.

    • Agreed..I’ve received good travel, style and photography tips.. and it’s just fun reading some of the wacky, amazing, intellectual thoughts from around the world.

Watcha wanna say...

